Archimede Pilot 42 Bronze Automatic – Good Enough….

The Archimede Bronze Pilot offers a simple design. The brushed finish of the CuSn8 (92% copper, 8% tin) bronze shows quality of manufacture. At 42mm, this Archimede is properly sized in my opinion. The large crown is synonymous with pilot watches of old and a nice design attractive to an otherwise sterile watch case. Powered by ETA 2824-2 automatic movement, it should have at least 40 hours of reserve time. You can view the movement via an exhibition case back.

I do not own a bronze watch before. Although bronze is better for protection against corrosion due to the creation of a protective layer (the oxide, hence the patina), I can’t bring it to myself to get one knowing full well it will change the way it look in a short space of time. Nevertheless, I would eventually get one for the experience. What better model then this fine example to be the first.

Leave a comment